What’s the other story?

Yes, standards are important. We need to be teaching kids the knowledge that they need to be successful in life. They need to understand how and why things work. That’s important.

As I reflect on who I am as a professional and who I was as a student at no point do I think, “Learning how to find a derivative in calculus was important.” I do however often think that learning calculus taught me how to think step by step in small chunks to achieve big things. In my professional career it is not how well I memorized the standards that makes me successful, it’s all the other stuff I learned while building my understanding of the standards.

Recently I asked students to do a chalk talk about “What skills do composers need to write good music?” I was looking for answers like “an understanding of form”, “Harmony” etc. Here’s what they thought:

– Be humble
– Understand how to plan
– Have inspiration
– Reflect on their work
– Edit
– Persevere
– Revise
– Think about what other people want
– Be social
– Be passionate
– Be a good writer
– Be a good poet
– Have confidence
– Tech skills
– Research
– Teamwork
– Patience
– Humor
– Trial and error
– Use their resources

Oh, yeah…. And they need to have a good singing voice or play instruments

As the chalk talk was unfolding I was thinking about how these far better answers than what I was expecting. They’re right. Having a good singing voice and playing instruments does not make a good composer. What makes a good composer is their ability to grow as a composer. To not give up the first time they get a bad review. You can learn anything if you keep working at it for long enough.

I think that we need to be must more conscious about how we teach kids the standards. We need to help our students grow as thinkers and learners. Teach them all of these important life skills through the standards in whichever subject we teach. Help them learn that failure is the first step to success. Life is not a constant string of “the next, little bit harder thing that you can be perfect at.” Making school that for our students is doing them a disservice. Every once in a while, something really hard takes me a while to fix. We need to teach our students how to break down these huge tasks for themselves and show them the pride they feel when they’ve accomplished it, on their own.

As I was re-reading Making Thinking Visible, the authors say that one way to hear students thinking about deeper layers of a text is to ask “What is the other story?” I think our classrooms have another story. Yes, we’re teaching the standards but what is the other story?

8 thoughts on “What’s the other story?

  1. Dakotah-

    I think you hit the nail on the head. The standards aren’t important, it is what you learn by exploring the standards that matter. Students get so much more out of their education that what “tests” or standards measure. I wore a similar blog post earlier this year here: http://sweattoinspire.com/2013/12/10/the-forgotten-purpose-of-education/

    Schools need to focus on the learning skills learned not the standards based outcomes. What if the subject matter has not relevance to the students life? and never will? So much we make students learn in school is never used latter in life, like your calculus example.

    Thanks for sharing

    Todd

    • Thanks, Todd. I like your point “A teacher will know they have done their job when their pupils finds answers to their questions without assistance.” I really like that you say the answers to THEIR questions. I know I’m doing a good job when they’re asking themselves the next question.

  2. Dakotah,
    Great post! This is much of conversation I’ve been having with my peers. Helping student learn and assessing the standards is only a small piece of the puzzle for future success. It is all of the other “stuff” that we don’t measure that truly helps students succeed in life!

  3. I am so proud of our students…. they see through the mass of curriculum goals and understand what we are really trying to teach- the qualities of resilience and self-motivation. My goal is to make the next generation better, by teaching the whole child. It’s not easy when the “schoolness” of it all gets in the way of true learning and applying it to life. I love that we can learn so much from those that we serve each day!

    • I feel lucky to teach where I do. I definitely wouldn’t be the same teacher if I didn’t get to steal everyone’s cool ideas.

  4. Dakotah,

    Congratulations on a very well written, thought provoking post.

    While the standards are important, they are far from the total outcome that our society needs from our public schools.

    Keep growing the conversation,
    John

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *